top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLove, Mom

Letter #5

Updated: Jan 13, 2021


Dear one,

Now that I am better I have had the time and energy to think about many things that I have not been able to think about for a long time.

The day I got so sick when you and I came back from going out for lunch is a day that I now realize must have been very scary for you. You had to stop the car twice to let me vomit and you drove so well to get me home to bed. You had only been driving for a short time and you got us safely home.

I know you sat on the stairs and listened to me being sick and I can now imagine that you were really frightened and didn't know what to do. Are you angry with yourself? If so. please please don't be. You were 16 years old and you could not possibly have known what to do.

I was so glad that you were sitting on the stairs 10 feet from my bedroom door.

That you had not gone upstairs to your room and out of speaking distance.

It was exactly right of you to do that.

So when I called to you, you came.

I told you how to get hold of Dad and you phoned long distance.

I heard you on the phone and I was so thankful when you insisted that the message get to your Dad immediately. I was so proud of you.

He was interrupted in an important business meeting and phoned home and then phoned our doctor, who sent an ambulance. And then he came home immediately.

So I got to the hospital just in time for surgery and my life was saved.

Thank you dear one, forever.

love, Mom


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page